Poetry Society of Texas

The Poetry Society of Texas was founded November 5, 1921. "The purpose of the Society shall be to secure fuller public recognition of the art of poetry, to encourage the writing of poetry by Texans and to kindle a finer and more intelligent appreciation of poetry, especially the work of living poets who interpret the spirit and heritage of Texas." Those in accord with this purpose are cordially invited to join. Access the PST Website at www.PoetrySocietyofTexas.org.

PST, the oldest state poetry society in the United States, is a member of the National Federation of State Poetry Societies, Inc. Access their Website at www.nfsps.org. Members are eligible to compete for the Federation's awards and to participate in its activities, including the annual convention held in June of each year. PST is also an affiliate of the Academy of American Poets. National and State Poetry Day is observed October 15. Dues to the PST also include membership in NFSPS (PST pays for your NFSPS membership).

PST meets via Zoom at 2:30 p.m. on the second Saturday of each month, January through May, and September, October, and December. The November meeting is the Annual Awards Banquet. The Summer Conference convenes in a different area of the state each year. At regular meetings, business is transacted and a program, usually by a writer or critic of distinction, is presented. Poems by members are awarded cash prizes by a critic judge. Other poems selected by the critic judge are read anonymously, and the popular and other prizes are chosen by secret ballot. Members and visitors are always welcome. Councilors appointed by the Board of Directors represent PST throughout various areas of Texas.

Annual contest cash prizes in excess of $4,500 are sponsored by PST. These are open only to active members, except where otherwise stated. PST gratefully acknowledges the gifts of individuals and groups who donate money for prizes or contribute to the Memorial Fund. Anyone who would like to establish a memorial to a friend or relative or sponsor an annual prize of $25 or more, or a monthly award of any amount, should mail contributions to: Nancy Baass, PST Annual Contests Chairman, 408 E. Warren St., Victoria, TX 77901.

Prize winning poems in the annual contests, as well as winners of the monthly critic award are published in an annual volume, A Book of the Year, mailed to members in May. PST also sends The Bulletin, its monthly newsletter, to each member via e-mail. PST sponsors a permanent collection of books and holograph poems by its members, housed in the Texas room of the Dallas public library. To join, send annual dues of $25 made payable to the order of the Poetry Society of Texas with notice of intent to join. Mail your dues to the PST Membership Chairman, Lynn Lewis, at 1704 Enderly Place, Fort Worth, Texas 76104. Include your name, address, phone and e-mail as you want them listed in the BOTY directory and website directory. Or better yet, use the PST Membership Form Join PST